Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

February 16, 2017

The Honorable Ajit Pai Chairman Federal Communications Commission 445 12th Street, SW Washington, DC 20554

Dear Chairman Pai:

We write to express our disappointment with the decision made by the FCC to end the defense of intrastate rate caps for incarcerated individuals.

Prior to the caps on prison phone rates, making calls to loved ones was a financial burden for many Americans who are paying upwards of \$1.50 per minute. Most families depend on these phone calls to maintain the vital relationships their incarcerated loved ones will depend on when they are released. In fact, 70 percent of incarcerated people kept in contact with their loved ones over the phone, rather than in person.¹

In 2012, the FCC placed a limit on what companies could charge for interstate phone calls. However, this limit does not apply for phone calls made within a state, intrastate calls, which can still be too high and represent the bulk of phone calls made from correctional facilities. Capping rates for calls within a state is an essential piece in fixing our nation's broken incarceration system.

Evidence suggests that greater connection to family and loved ones leads to lower rates of recidivism. Maintaining access to telecommunication is particularly important for millions of American families—as of 2015, 2.7 million children in the United States have an incarcerated parent.²

Affordable phone calls are important for keeping our families strong and our communities safe. We urge you and Commissioner O'Reilly to reconsider your decision on this matter.

Sincerely,

Keith Ellison

Member of Congress

Bobby Rush

Member of Congress

| Don Beyer Member of Congress | Symme Bnance Suzame Bonamici Member of Congress |
|---|--|
| Judy Chu Member of Congress | Avette O Clarke Yvette Clarke Member of Congress |
| Steve Cohen Member of Congress | Elijah E. Cummings Member of Congress |
| Danny & Oanis Danny R. Davis Member of Congress | Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress |
| Luis V. Gutierrez Member of Congress | Hakeem Jeffries Member of Congress |
| Ro Khanna Member of Congress | Barbara Lee Member of Congress |
| John Lewis Member of Congress | James P. McGovern Member of Congress |

| Jerry McNerney Member of Congress | Gwen Moore Member of Congress |
|--|---------------------------------------|
| Mark Pocan Member of Congress | Jamie Raskin Member of Congress |
| Cedric L. Richmond Member of Congress | José E. Serrano Member of Congress |
| Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress | Mark Takano Member of Congress |
| | |

Bonnie Watson Coleman Member of Congress

John Yarmuth Member of Congress

CC: Mignon Clyburn, Commissioner, Federal Communications Commission Michael O'Reilly, Commissioner, Federal Communications Commission

[1] https://ecfsapi.fcc.gov/file/10113804521853/Comments%20of%20ICS%20Advocates %20-%20As%20Submitted.pdf

[2] https://www.prisonpolicy.org/reports/prisonvisits.html