Skip navigation
× You have 2 more free articles available this month. Subscribe today.

Take Action to Oppose the Nomination of Stacia Hylton to Direct the U.S. Marshals!


Call to Action on opposing the Hylton nomination!

On November 9, 2010, a coalition of organizations -- including the Alliance for Justice, Human Rights Defense Center, Private Corrections Working Group, Grassroots Leadership, National Lawyers Guild, International CURE, Detention Watch Network and Justice Policy Institute -- announced their opposition to Stacia A. Hylton, who has been nominated to head the U.S. Marshals Service.

The Marshals Service handles security for federal courthouses, apprehends federal fugitives, and also oversees the detention of federal prisoners awaiting trial or immigration proceedings.

The day after the opposition campaign was announced, the Judiciary Committee scheduled Hylton's nomination for a hearing on November 17 -- within one week. Apparently the administration wants to push her nomination through before the opposition campaign cranks up and creates more controversy.

The opposition campaign against Hylton's nomination focuses on conflicts of interest based on her acceptance of $112,500 in consulting fees from GEO Group, the nation's second-largest private prison company, which has contracts with the U.S. Marshals to house federal detainees, and which obtained multi-million dollar contracts during Hylton's tenure as the Federal Detention Trustee.

A month before she retired from her position as the Federal Detention Trustee in February 2010, Hylton formed a consulting company in Virginia. Following her retirement, her company (of which she is the sole owner) quickly accepted consulting work with GEO in regard to detention services and was paid $112,500.

Hylton is now nominated to direct the U.S. Marshals Service, which has contracts with GEO Group to house federal prisoners.

In short, she accepted a substantial sum from the same private prison industry that she was overseeing as the Federal Detention Trustee and will be overseeing again if her nomination is confirmed – the same industry that profits handsomely from incarceration and has a financial incentive to keep more people in prison. We believe this is a blatant conflict of interest.

For more information, including other connections between Hylton and private prison companies, please read the November 9 press release, here:


Hylton's nomination is scheduled for a hearing on November 17!

Please contact the following members of the Senate Judiciary Committee to express opposition to the Hylton nomination, especially the first two offices listed, which are for the Committee's leadership. If any of the Committee members represent your state, make sure to mention that when you call!

You can mention her conflict of interest due to accepting consulting fees from GEO Group, or cite other information included in the press release. Please be polite and respectful when you call, and ask to speak with the Senator's judiciary staff. Thank you!

Chairman Patrick Leahy (D-VT)
224 Dirksen Senate Office Building
202-224-9516 fax

Ranking Member Jeff Sessions (R-AL)
152 Dirksen Senate Office Building
202-224-9102 fax

Senator Herb Kohl (D-WI)
330 Hart Senate Office Building
202-228-2294 fax

Senator Orrin Hatch (R-UT)
104 Hart Senate Office Building
202-224-6331 fax

Senator Dianne Feinstein (D-CA)
331 Hart Senate Office Building
202-228-2258 fax

Senator Chuck Grassley (R-IA)
135 Hart Senate Office Building
202-224-9102 fax

Senator Russ Feingold (D-WI)
506 Hart Senate Office Building
(202) 224-5323
(202) 224-2725 fax

Senator Jon Kyl (R-AZ)
730 Hart Senate Office Building
202-224-2207 fax

Senator Arlen Specter (R-PA)
711 Hart Senate Office Building
202-228-1229 fax

Senator Lindsey Graham (R-SC)
290 Russell Senate Office Building
202-224-3808 fax

Senator Charles Schumer (D-NY)
313 Hart Senate Office Building
202-228-3027 fax

Senator John Cornyn (R-TX)
517 Hart Senate Office Building
202-228-2281 fax

Senator Dick Durbin (D-IL)
332 Dirksen Senate Office Building
202-228-0781 fax

Senator Tom Coburn (R-OK)
172 Russell Senate Office Building
202-224-6008 fax

Senator Ben Cardin (D-MD)
509 Hart Senate Office Building
202-224-1651 fax

Senator Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI)
502 Hart Senate Office Building
202-228-6459 fax

Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MN)
302 Hart Senate Office Building
202-228-2186 fax

Senator Ted Kaufman (D-DE)
383 Russell Senate Office Building
202-228-3075 fax

Senator Al Franken (D-MN)
320 Hart Senate Office Building
202-224-0044 fax

As a digital subscriber to Prison Legal News, you can access full text and downloads for this and other premium content.

Subscribe today

Already a subscriber? Login